Chords in Blue

Carol Robbins

Jazzcats JCTS-107


The arrangements of a few standards and some original tunes are fresh and clean, and Robbins herself displays her big-time jazz chops.Her playing is unforced and natural, and she voices chords with a nice flair for logical progression. And, let it be said, Robbins can swing. Long a fixture in the Los Angeles jazz and pops scene, Robbins’ playing deserves to be heard. Her first-rate rhythm section lends additional credence to what really should be a rule of thumb for all harpists out there: don’t make a jazz record if you really don’t know what you’re doing. No question here: Robbins knows what she’s doing, and she’s doing it as well as anybody.

– Darin Kelly, The Harp Column (full review)



  • 1. Who Can I Turn To? 3:45
  • 2. Easy to Love 3:01
  • 3. Blues for Dorothy 3:52
  • 4. Talmente Chiaro 3:08
  • 5. Where Is Love? 3:40
  • 6. Gentle Rain 6:04
  • 7. Notes to Bill 3:01
  • 8. Isn’t It Romantic? 3:49
  • 9. A Time for Love 5:07
  • 10. Disegno 3:31
  • 11. But Not for Me 2:27
  • 12. Beautiful Love 3:13



Carol Robbins – harp
David Stone – bass
Gordon Peeke – drums
“Blues for Dorothy,” “Talmente Chiaro,” “Notes to Bill” and “Disegno” written by Carol Robbins (Carol Robbins Music, ASCAP). “Who Can I Turn To?” written by Leslie Bricusse and Anthony Newley. “Easy to Love” written by Cole Porter. “Where Is Love?” written by Lionel Bart. “Gentle Rain” written by Luis Bonfa. “Isn’t It Romantic?” written by Richard Rodgers. “A Time for Love” written by Johnny Mandel. “But Not for Me” written by George Gershwin. “Beautiful Love” written by Victor Young.


Produced by Buddy Halligan. Recorded, mixed and mastered at Bell Sound Studios in Hollywood, CA, by Buddy Halligan.

Photography by Buddy Halligan

Album Tracks

  • Who Can I Turn To

  •  Buy Now
  • Easy to Love

  •  Buy Now
  • Blues for Dorothy

  •  Buy Now
  • Talmente Chiaro

  •  Buy Now
  • Where Is Love

  •  Buy Now
  • Gentle Rain

  •  Buy Now
  • Notes to Bill

  •  Buy Now
  • Isn’t it Romantic

  •  Buy Now
  • A Time for Love

  •  Buy Now
  • Disegno

  •  Buy Now
  • But Not For Me

  •  Buy Now
  • Beautiful Love

  •  Buy Now
  • Buy Now

  • text logo art for CD Baby music store